Carelsen and Sanders take Demacon Max Wax MTB #1

The first event in the Demacon Max Wax MTB offered all the thrills and mud spills for an exciting finish to the event on 2 February. Taking top honours in the 55km feature race were Christo Carelsen in the men’s and Samantha Sanders in the women’s race.

With ideal mountain biking conditions including a light drizzle to stave off the Lowveld heat, challenging single tracks and high speed downhills it was a tough race with Carelson beating runner up Franco Pelser by less than a minute, at a time of 2:04:57. Gerrit de Vries took third.

Franco Pelser leads the pack in the Mountain Spring Spur Sprint Shootout at the Demacon Max Wax MTB. Photo credit: PC Photography

Runner up Kirsten Gillespie was hot on Sander’s heels, with Claudia Slatterly taking third position. Sanders finished in a time of 2:07:50, making her third overall winner among the men and ladies.

In the 30km mens’ race Tiaan van Pletzen came in first in a time of 1:07:23, followed by Gert Peens and Blessing Makofane. Jessica Svacha took the title for the ladies in a time of 1:24:42, followed by Sumanette Bredenkamp and Santie van der Westhuizen.

Micheal Meyer took the top spot in the 10km mens’ race in a time of 33:35, followed by Tom Nefdt and Paul Coetzee. The women’s race was dominated by Chanei Mostert in a time of 45:58, followed by Zelmari van Eden and Liezel Hanekom.

The next race in the four part series takes place on 2 March at Pull Scar in White River.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *