2014 MTB World Champs

The 2014 Mountain Bike and Trials World Championships took place from the 1st to the 7th of September in Hafjell, Norway. For the South African contingent the 2014 World Champs proved to be a tough challenge with only James Reid (XCO U23) managing a top ten position. There was huge disappointment in the shape of a DNF for the young Bianca Haw (Junior XCO) while a flat tyre scarpered Greg Minnaar’s title defence.

Competitors - Winners

The talking point of the cross-country races was the number of riders embracing full suspension technology. Not too long ago it was only the Specialized riders turning out on dual sus XCO bikes, but the 2014 World Champs saw Nino Schurter sporting a 27.5 Scott Spark full sus and the newly crowned Wold Champ, Julien Absalon, raced to victory on a BMC Fourstroke FS01. These are exciting times to be a weight weenie… look out for short travel dropper seat posts on the UCI MTB World Cup circuit next year as the courses get even more technical.

In the downhill the show was stolen by the long flying Josh Bryceland who overshot the final jump, while trying to carry all the speed he possibly could, and broke his foot landing in the flats. The post run exchange between him and Minnaar has quickly entered MTB folk-law. “I didn’t want to brake for that jump,” Bryceland said, “I saw,” was Minnaar’s deadpan response. Meanwhile Gee Atherton claimed the World Champion’s jersey while in the ladies race Manon Carpenter capped a magnificent breakthrough season by adding the World Champion’s title to her World Cup overall series victory.


Elite women XCO: 1. Catharine Pendrel (CAN), 2. Irina Kalentieva (RUS) and 3.Lea Davison (USA).Elite men XCO: 1. Julien Absalon (FRA), 2. Nino Schurter (SUI) 3. Marco Aurelio Fontana (ITA) SA’s results: 42. Philip Buys and 55. RourkeCroeser.

Elite women DHI: 1. Manon Carpenter, 2. Rachel Atherton 3. Tahnee Seagrave (All GBR) Elite men DHI: 1. Gee Atherton (GBR) 2. Josh Bryceland (GBR) 3.Troy Brosnan (AUS) SA’s results: 21. Andrew Neethling 30. Greg Minnaar

Gee Atherton - Action

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.