Cyclists nominated for SA Sports Awards

15 October 2014 – Cycling South Africa is delighted to announce that five of our cyclists have been nominated for the final list of the South African Sports Awards 2014.

The final list of nominees was announced by the Minister of Sport and Recreation, The Honourable Mr Fikile Mbalula, at SABC Studios on Morning Live this morning, 15 October.

The South African Sports Awards have been created to recognise and honour individuals and teams who have excelled both on and off the field between 1 October 2013 and 31 August 2014.

The National Sports Federations, the sports media and the South African Sports Awards Voting Panel nominated candidates for the awards. The following cyclists were nominated in these categories:

  1. Sportsman of the Year: Mr. Greg Minnaar
  2. Sportsman of the Year with Disability: Mr. Ernst van Dyk
  3. Sportsman of the Year with Disability: Mr. Nicholas Pieter du Preez
  4. Sportswoman of the Year: Ms. Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
  5. Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: Ms. Justine Asher
  6. Sports Star of the Year: Mr. Ernst van Dyk

The South African Sports Awards takes place at the Sandton Convention Centre on 30 November 2014. The SA Sports Awards are brought to you by SASCOC (South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee) and the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa, with the SABC and Supersport being the official broadcast partners. Kind financial assistance from National Lottery also contributes towards the success of the SASA 2014.
These partners have embarked on the creation of the SA Sports Awards brand, in a bid to reward South Africa’s sports stars for their efforts in keeping the passion of sport alive in the hearts of millions of South Africans, through their efforts in local or international sports events.

Cycling South Africa’s President, William Newman, said: “We are extremely proud of our nominated cyclists and their achievements. By being nominated they are already winners and we wish them the best of luck with the remainder of the Awards process.”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.