Menlo Park High Wins Record MTB Season

Menlopark High School once again showed their supremacy staying undefeated at the top of the log, while securing eight podium positions and three series winners on a challenging and technical track at this weekend’s Gauteng finals of the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League presented by Anatomic.   They are also the defending national Spur Schools Mountain Bike League mixed and girls team champions.  Midstream College finished overall second and Zwartkops High School secured third place following a record season with more than 2500 riders representing 60 schools battling it out for a place in the upcoming national championships.

Gauteng junior series winners Martien Venter and Saffron Vosloo, both from Menlopark High School were also appointed team captains leading the defending national champions, Gauteng, in the inter-provincial finals in October.   Menlopark also scored a hatric in the junior men’s category with gold for Martien Venter, silver for Wessel Bothma and bronze for Henry Liebenberg.

According to Gauteng league co-ordinator, Deon Steyn the year-on-year growth in the league has been amazing.  “The Anatomic High School MTB Series has become the biggest XCO series in South Africa, drawing more participants than provincial and even national races.  Up until last year the Gauteng Series was open to everybody and we had riders from Limpopo, Freestate, NW and Mpumlanga participating in the Gauteng events.  The growth of the league necessitated that we split the regions to avoid racing fields becoming too big for the cross-country lap racing format (also the Olympic format) of the league,” said Steyn.

The league will culminate with the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League National Finals in October, when MTB fans from across Sub-Saharan Africa, including South Africa and neighbours Zimbabwe and Namibia will congregate at Bekker School in Magaliesberg to compete as schools as well as provinces for the coveted Spur Schools MTB League trophy and top spot on the provincial log.

For further information, follow us on @SpurMTBleague, log on to SpurSchoolsLeague on Facebook or visit

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.