Following an exciting 2014 season, fierce competition marked the national finals of the Spur High School Mountain Bike League that was hosted at Bekker School in Magaliesburg.

A record number of 355 riders representing the cream of high school mountain bike riders from more than 69 schools across South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe competed in the

two-day event.

The team from Menlopark High School was on top form and secured four podium positions as well as logging a number of top ten positions to secure both the girls and mixed team national championship trophies, while Grey College in Bloemfontein won the boys team category.

The 4.5km track at Bekker School proved more challenging than previous seasons boasting a lot of single track stretches as well as tricky falls and climbs that required both stamina and technical skills of the riders.  The lap-race format of the event saw the various age categories complete a specific number of laps ranging from two laps for the sub-junior girls to a testing five laps for the junior men.

Points were awarded to the top 26 finishers in each race with the total school scores based on the top five boys in the Boys Team category, top three girls in the Girls Team category, and three boys and two girls respectively in the Mixed Team category.   According to Gauteng league co-ordinator, Deon Steyn, it was the depth of the Menlopark team that secured them the top spot proving that all efforts count.

Sub Junior Boys (13-14) – three laps

1 Ryan Conradie (204) of Potchefstroom Gimnasium in 00:40:19

2 Chris Du Plessis (160) of Menlopark HS in 00:40:29

3 Dawie Grobbelaar (127) of Grey College Bloemfontein in 00:41:58

Youth Men A (15) – four laps

1 Pieter Du Toit (226) of Volkskool Potchefstroom in 00:53:26

2 Francois Annandale (224) of Grey College Bloemfontein in 00:53:27

3 Johann Trotzky (256) of Montana HS in 00:53:40

Youth Men B (16) – four laps

1 Herbert Peters (339) of St George’s Doiscesan School Namibia in 00:50:45

2 Brandon Van Der Berg (317) of Volkskool Potchefstroom in 00:51:30

3 Henry Liebenberg (348) of Menlopark HS in 00:51:32

Junior Men (17) – five laps

1 Marc Fourie (16) of Grey College Bloemfontein in 01:02:19

2 Wade Prinsloo (64) of Hartebeespoort HS in 01:02:28

3 Luke William Evans of St. Stithians (71) in 01:04:54

Sub Junior Girls (13-14) – two laps

1 Tiffany Keep (123) of Thomas More in 00:30:32

2 Thana Groenwald (115) of Midstream College in 00:31:34

3 Kaylin Prinsloo (398) of Hartebeespoort HS in 00:33:34

Youth Women – three laps

1 Kristen Louw (294) of Volkskool Potchefstroom in 00:46:42

2 Saffron Vosloo (261) of Menlopark HS in 00:46:47

3 Lynette Benson (292) of Waterkloof HS in 00:46:57

Junior Women – four laps

1 Michelle Benson (98) of Waterkloof HS in 01:02:43

2 Janice Venter (78) of Menlopark HS in 01:03:16

3 Mandie Swart (92) of Nelspruit HS in 01:05:23

Top 20 boys teams:

1.       Grey College Bloemfontein (120 points)

2.       Menlopark HS (89 points)

3.       Parel Vallei HS (88 points)

4.       Zwartkop HS (87 points)

5.       Volkskool Potchefstroom (84 points)

6.       Noordheuwel HS (70 points)

7.       Paul Roos Gimnasium ( points)

8.       Potchefstroom Gimnasium (69 points)

9.       Montana HS (64 points)

10.   Midstream College (60 points)

Top 10 girls teams:

1.       Menlopark HS (73 points)

2.       Volkskool Potchefstroom (69)

3.       Waterkloof HS (68 points)

4.       Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool Pretoria (54 points)

5.       Swakopmund (48)

6.       Montana HS (45 points)

7.       Nelspruit HS (45 points)

8.       Midstream College (44 points)

9.       Parel Vallei High School (41 points)

10.   Lydenburg HS (40)

Top 10 mixed teams:

1.       Menlopark HS

2.       Volkskool Potchefstroom

3.       Midstream College

4.       Montana HS

5.       Parel Vallei HS

6.       Hartebeespoort HS

7.       Noordheuwel HS

8.       Potchefstroom Gimnasium

9.       Nelspruit HS

10.   Centurion HS

The league was launched in 2009 as a joint initiative between Spur and AMARIDER to create a fun racing environment for kids and has also facilitated the building of mountain bike tracks on school property and community grounds.  Earlier this year the league cemented its position as one of the leading sport development programmes in the country when it was shortlisted as a finalist for the 2014 Discovery Sport Industry Awards.


The Spur School Mountain Bike League final is also considered an interprovincial derby with the top riders from each province selected to compete for their respective provinces.  Competition was fierce between Gauteng and North West Provinces with each logging a number of wins, but it was defending champion Gauteng that once again took home the coveted Spur Mountain Bike League Interprovincial Trophy.  Western Cape took the third place.

For more information on the Spur High School Mountain Bike league visit or  Also visit the FB page SpurSchoolsLeague

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.